Grocery Store Liberation- Step 2

Check out my first batch of homemade rice milk!

Last month, a Nordicware stove top waffle iron got me one step closer to freedom from buying groceries. I prepare a full recipe’s worth of waffle batter, we each eat one, and the rest go in the freezer. They heat up just as quickly as store bought frozen waffles, but taste better (with no preservatives or mystery ingredients).

Now, with the help of the Soy Power Plus milk machine I borrowed from my twin food stylist friends Jed and Elias, I will be able to free myself from weekly milk purchases!

I added 2 tablespoons of hemp seeds, for protein and flavor; 2 teaspoons of coconut flour, for thickening power and flavor; 2 teaspoons of evaporated cane juice, to sweeten; and the recommended 80g of soaked rice. Can’t wait to try it in my afternoon tea!

About electricbluebaking

vegan baker and chef
This entry was posted in Ingredients/Shopping and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grocery Store Liberation- Step 2

  1. Samantha says:

    Homemade rice milk! I’ve been thinking about that. I’ve made homemade almond, cashew, and even hemp milk. No fancy machinery, just a blender and a strainer for the leftover pulp.

    • Honestly, I think that is the best way. The less fancy equipment you need to use, the better. I am a big fan of oat milk too, and I make it the same way, with blender and strainer. No fuss!

Leave a Reply

