Adventures in Gluten-Free Baking

I am in the kitchen making gluten free quiche pastry and linzer tarts. The base of both doughs is idli flour that I bought at Patel Brothers Indian Supermarket. As of five minutes ago, all I knew was that the the bag contained a mix of black lentil and rice flours. What I just found out is that idli are steamed savory cakes that are usually eaten for breakfast, and served with a variety of sauces.

A quick Menupages search revealed that there are numerous New York restaraunts that serve these cakes, including my favorite Indian lunch spot, Tiffin Wallah.

Hopefully, these pastries will come out well and I can go celebrate with a plateful of idlis tomorrow.

UPDATE: Check out my gluten-free tart shells!

About electricbluebaking

vegan baker and chef
This entry was posted in Ingredients/Shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

