I Might Never Buy Shampoo Again.

My hair after being washed with baking soda and vinegar.

It had been one week since I’d washed my hair and it had never looked healthier. It was shiny and smooth, and people were complimenting me on it. But it was dirty.  So I wanted to find a way to wash my long hair without sacrificing the way it looked after not using conventional shampoo and conditioner for a week.

Let me rephrase that: The brand of shampoo/conditioner that I use is detergent-free, and includes ingredients like peppermint oil that cleanse and invigorate without drying the scalp or hair. So it is not that conventional. But it is expensive.

Initially I searched for a dry shampoo. They come in powdered form and can be sprayed on any time without even wetting your hair. The problem is that they all contain aluminum, which has been proven to cause Alzheimer’s. The thought of spraying that directly on my scalp–a few centimeters away from my brain–was a little disconcerting. So I did more research and found a post from a blog called One Green Generation. Instead of shampooing, she massaged her dry scalp with a mixture of baking soda, vinegar and cinnamon and then rinsed it in the shower. In the picture, her hair looked beautiful. So I decided to give it a try, this time with cloves instead of cinnamon, and it worked!

The only drawback was that I had to take more time to detangle my hair because it was not as slick as it was with conditioner. But it was worth the effort. Once dry, my hair was shiny and the color was deeper. The curls were not as weighted down as they were after conditioning, so my hair was fuller.

The best part: a bottle of my favorite shampoo costs $15. The conditioner is the same. A box of baking soda and a small bottle of vinegar will set me back about $2.50.

About electricbluebaking

vegan baker and chef
This entry was posted in Ingredients/Shopping and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Might Never Buy Shampoo Again.

  1. Alison says:

    Awesome idea! Please include more hair recipes, please…hehe.

    What other things can you substitute with baking soda?

    xoxo

    • Well I love the idea of adding different essential oils to the mixture to add fragrance and other beneficial properties. Rose, lavender, clove, rosemary, lemongrass, peppermint and chamomile all seem like they would work nicely.

Leave a Reply

